Industrial | Mechanical | Inspection
  • Location
    Charleston, SC
  • (843) 414-8500

New to site?


Lost password? (close)

Already have an account?


Home NQA-1

Zuuk Inspection, a division of Zuuk International has an ASME NQA-1 and 10CFR 50 Appendix B compliant Non-Destructive Testing program.   We provide support to spent fuel storage programs, new construction, maintenance, refurbishment and life management.

Zuuk Inspectors provide:

 • Accelerated Corrosion Inspections

 • CWI Certified Weld Inspections

 • MFL Magnetic Flux Leakage

 • MT Magnetic Particle Testing

 • PAUT Phased Array Ultrasonic Testing

 • PT Liquid Penetrant Testing

 • UT Ultrasonic Testing (Shearwave)

 • VT Visual Testing

The United States has the most operating nuclear reactors in the world. One hundred and four (104) nuclear reactors currently operate in 31 states.  Nuclear power contributes 19% of the electricity in the U.S. today, providing 800 billion kilowatt-hours.  It comprises 70% of the nation’s carbon-free electricity and is the third largest source of electricity behind coal and gas.  After thirty years of near dormancy, there has been a resurgence in the nuclear power industry with four new nuclear units planned to be commissioned within the next ten years.

Nuclear Quality Assurance-1, normally referred to as “NQA-1”, is a standard maintained by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) that provides requirements of controls needed in specific areas of a nuclear quality program.  As with most of ASME codes, the NQA-1 standard and certification is focused on safety standards of products, processes and documentation.

NQA-1 was developed using Mil Q 9858 and the Navy’s Nuclear Program, which was the Quality Assurance Program for the military as early as 1955.  The only major change since the 1960’s has been the addition of one new word — “software.”  By 1975, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) was assigned overall responsibility for coordination among technical societies, development, and maintenance of nuclear power quality assurance standards to the ASME.   ANSI/ASME NQA-1, Quality Assurance Program Requirements for Nuclear Power Plants was first issued in 1979.  In the 1980’s, further guidelines were added (NQA-2, and NQA-3); however, in the early 1990’s the three standards were merged into one under the original NQA-1 title.

The standard is split into four parts:

1. Requirements for Quality Assurance Programs for Nuclear


2. Quality Assurance Requirements for Nuclear Facility


3. Non-mandatory Guidance and Application Appendices.

4. Non-mandatory Appendices: Positions and Applications


Part 1 includes (18) eighteen basic requirements of a quality operation including Inspection, Design Control, and Inspection, Test, and Operating Status.

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) endorsed parts of the NQA-1 as far back as 1983, but was not always ready to adopt the standard in its entirety.  By 2010, the NRC reported the latest version of NQA-1 to be more definitive than the ISO 9001 requirements.  Historically, the Department of Energy (DOE) was more supportive of the standard at nuclear facilities, including next generation nuclear power plants, mixed oxide fuel fabrication facilities, defense waste processing facilities, and others.

NQA-1 is constantly being revised to ensure operational safety and to keep pace with technology.  The current version was released in 2013 (NQA-1-2012), however the most commonly used version is NQA-1-2008 [with the NQA-1a-2009 addendum], which is endorsed by the NRC.